AAAE North Central Region Business Meeting Minutes April, 5, 2003, Columbus, OH

The Business Meeting of the 1st Annual AAAE North Central Region Conference was called to order by President, Bryan Garton on Saturday April 5, 2003 in Columbus Ohio.

Dr. Larry Case delivered a brief update regarding current events, announcements, and key points of information for both the United States Department of Education and the National FFA.

Tracy Hoover opened the floor for nominations for the open leadership positions, Bob Birkenholz moved nominations be closed, and ballots were collected.

Kerry Odell assumed the responsibilities of the Chair while Bryan Garton delivered the Treasure's Report. Garton moved for approval of the report, the report passed. Steve Harbstreit gave the audit report and Jamie Cano moved to accept the report. The report passed. Bryan Garton re-assumed the chair position for the remainder of the meeting.

The standing committee reports were given by the following individuals, and minutes of the reports are attached: Joe Gleim, Communications Committee; Andy Baker, Professional Development; Jeff Moss, Program Improvement; Neil Knobloch (standing in for Harry Boone), Research. Rob Terry moved to pass the reports as given, the motion passed.

Bob Birkenholz delivered the Journal of Agricultural Education Board report. He indicated that the board will increase the non-member and international subscription rates. The board has discussed the possibilities of moving to an electronic journal. Finally, the board plans to discuss the procedures for getting the journal indexed. Bob Birkenholz moved to accept the report as given, and the motion passed.

It was announced that Dr. Layle Lawrence, Department Chair from West Virginia University retires in August and Kerry Odell will be accepting the position as the new chair. Jim Riley, FBMA program coordinator from the University of Missouri retires this summer as well. Len Harsman, department chair at Western Illinois University retires in July.

Jeff Moss gave the Outstanding Poster awards as follows:

2nd Runner-up: Enhancing Professional Development for Agricultural Education Students - Rose Wise-Scherer & DaBeth Manns, Purdue University

1st Runner-up: We Took the Lead, So They Could Lead - Jeremy Falk & M. Susie Whittington, Ohio State University

Outstanding Poster: Ag Mech Boot Camp: Preparing Pre-Service Teachers for the Trenches - Gordon Laboube, Scott Burris, & Tracy Kitchel, University of Missouri Kerry Odell gave the Outstanding Research paper/presentation awards as follows:

2nd Runner-up: Usefulness and Timeliness of Information Resources Used by Extension Agents - David Krueger & Jari Sugano, Michigan State University

1st Runner-up: Elementary and Junior High School Teachers' Beliefs of the Most Beneficial Aspects of Teaching Agriculture - Crystal Allen, Anna Ball, Neil Knoblock & Rebecca Silberhorn, University of Illinois

Outstanding Paper/Presentation: Preparing Teachers of Agriculture to Solve Complex Student Supervision Problems Through Problem-Based Learning - Anna Ball, Neil Knobloch, & Sheila Settle, University of Illinois

Tracy Hoover announced the leadership positions as follows:

Secretary/Treasurer-Anna Ball Alternative VP/VP Elect-Tracy Hoover Communication Committee-Susan Camp and Bobby Torres Professional Development Committee- Rob Terry Program Improvement Committee-Penny Haase Wittler Research Committee-Steve Harbstreit and Allen Talbert JAE Editing Managing Board- Rama Radhakrishna

A nomination was sought to approve that the alternate Vice President automatically become Vice President, making the alt VP a 4 year commitment. Jerry Peters made the motion, which passed. Jamie Cano made a motion to make the official name the AAAE North Central Region Conference, the motion was seconded and passed. Kerry Odell led the discussion on future conference dates and location. Steve Harbstreit moved the conference be held in September, 2004 and the motion passed.

Bob Birkenholz moved to rotate the conference between Columbus, OH and St. Louis, MO. Penny Haase Wittler moved to amend the motion by inserting Pittsburg, PA. The amendment failed. Jim Conners amended the motion by moving to strike St. Louis and add Indianapolis, IN. The motion passed. Rob Terry amended the motion by moving to strike the word "rotation" and insert, "for the next two years." The motion failed due to lack of second. Bob Birkenholz then removed the main motion from the floor. Bob Birkenholz moved that the NorthCentral Region Conference be held in Indianapolis in 2004 and Columbus in 2005. The motion passed. Tracy Hoover moved that the undergraduate conference be added to the list of responsibilities to be shared in regard to the conference coordination. The motion passed.

In regard to the 2004 NC Conference in Indy:

West Virginia University will coordinate the Undergraduate Conference Purdue University will be the host institution University of Missouri will coordinate the research conference

In regard to the 2005 NC Conference in Columbus:

Minnesota will coordinate the Undergraduate conference Michigan State will be the host institution Penn State will coordinate the research conference

Bobby Torres made a motion to approve the responsibilities, and the motion passed.

Representatives from the institutions in attendance introduced their respective graduate students. Kerry Odell thanked Bryan Garton for his efforts as chair. The meeting was adjourned.